Enchanted

enchanted

2007; Amy Adams, Susan Sarandon; PG   IMDB Page

Beatrice Gamgee Writes:  I don’t think I could possibly say it better than Barb Nicolosi’s brief recommendation:

It is smart and at moments hilarious and consciously uncynical. And when Disney is on the dock at the last judgment, they will just show this film and say, “The defense rests.”

G.K. Chesterton would love this story that not only defends fairy tales, but gives us a quirky look at our world from someone who finds it completely foreign.

I’m kind of a crazy person sometimes. I’ve been known to cheer (very loudly) at the television – during football games, spelling bees and *some* political speeches. It doesn’t happen a lot in movies (and certainly not in movie theaters!), but when there’s a glorious moment of beauty and goodness and truth proclaimed on screen, I can’t help myself. I found myself cheering and yelling at more than one point in this story. Good stuff!

Aurora Parker Writes: One of my favorite things about this movie is that you can tell how much fun all the people had making it. It’s so much fun to see a “classic” Disney movie take place in both the animated world and our own world and how a classic Disney princess would see and understand our world: how crazy our world looks to fresh eyes. I thoroughly enjoyed this movie.

Leave a Reply

